Continuation of Responses from the Exposure…

 AMAZING EXPERIENCE WITH THE BAJAUS

Sr. Conception  Cimacio, MSHFdscn28071

As we went to Basilan we visited the place of Badjau’s community, I felt deep within me that there was something happening which disturbs me a lot. Being with them for a short time seeing the place, having spoken a few words with them that are known to me, observing their situation and their way of life is “AMAZING”. I felt at that moment that God is truly present in them and among them. I could not just imagine being able to live only through the catch of fish as their major means of livelihood. What I could not imagine is to live on the water and the kind of shelter they own (so on and so forth) for me is terrible. Though they are marginalized by the society and the government leaders these people still live with joy that reminds me God is truly with them. Amidst their situation they can still smile to greet us “wow”!100_1968

 dscn2863This situation is a big “bang” for me in viewing myself in those difficult situations from the perspective of past that sometimes it loosened my missionary terror. It teaches me a lot!!! I’m very much appreciative to those people who help them and alleviate their condition holistically. YES! This is really a call of today’s evangelization. Bring love, justice and salvation to the poor, to the marginalized and those who live in the periphery which is my mission too.

 

 

 

Encountering God in the Margins

Marjeo Delfin 21042009074

One way of describing our human existence is by the quality of our relationships. These relationships are established by the encounters we make, are captured in the instances we call “situations.” Human relationship can be described in our everyday encounter with one another. This is also true in our relationship with God. We encounter Him in our daily tasks, habits, and consciousness.

The reflection on the topic “Experiencing God in the Margins,” opens up another way of encountering and experiencing the divine in the context of margins. Bearing in mind the context of mission, we pattern this encounter with that of Jesus, his encounter with the marginalized. Thinking back of our experiences in the past especially our experience of the margin, we bring to our consciousness that the people who have been marginalized in various ways depending on specific context, cultures, time and situation. This reminds us of Jesus’ command which has been entrusted to us through history as missionaries and bearers of the Good News.

dscn2862Moreover, just like the message of God and the inspiration of the Holy Spirit, this situation regarding the poor disturbs us and shakes us to do something. We cannot afford to neglect but respond to this call of the Spirit who is truly alive in our midst. We have done the first step of listening to this call by naming our subjects, the poor people similar to those whom Jesus ministered, people who are in great need of salvation.

We take this realization as our perspective in doing the mission set before us. While we behold of the faces of today’s mission in their respective context, we also take hold of the object of our faith, the message who is Jesus Christ himself. The daily Eucharist is the model of these poor people who are united in Christ through sacrificial act of love offering and suffering in the form of sacrifice. We center our lives as religious and missionaries, working in the ministry to where we are called and to accompany the pilgrim people whom God has entrusted to our care. This is a refreshed perspective of mission and vision in our lives. Euntes!100_38591

 

Moment of God’s Experience in the Margins

Sr. Emma Dublan, PMdscn2909

 

 

 Our visit to Basilan especially Maluso where we encountered with the community of Badjaus brought back beautiful memories of my experience with the tribal mission station for the Bilaan Tribe.

My experience of God with these people is the turning point of my religious life because I never experienced this kind of encounter. With this incident I felt deep within me a tremendous enthusiasm developed and deepened to care for the margins wherever I am sent to work and live.What I realize is that the tribes should be considered as ‘subjects’ not objects. Visiting, meeting and empowering these people is being done with the social concerns which are gradually answered just like what the fathers and other voluntary group of people have been doing now in Maluso project.

100_19944There are difficulties, trials and conflicts everywhere present but we have to remember that God is present there where joy is radiated by those involved in the mission and so it is also with the people whom we have seen and encountered.Truly I believe in what Mt. 10:16-20 say “See I am sending you; do not worry for it is not you who will speak but the Spirit of your Father…” Where God is; the joy is present.

Leave a comment